Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3 Data Center

The Uptime Institute has categorized data center tiers into levels Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3 Data Center, and data center operator Switch Inc. has its tier 5 standard. For the sake of convenience, Arzhost will refer to data center tiers by their numerical values rather than the Uptime Institute’s Roman numeral syntax.

While redundancy and resilience in data centers are crucial. It is also important to note that the tier level and data center construction costs are directly related.

Basic Capacity Tier 1 Data Center

Tier 1 data centers give IT infrastructure dedicated space to accommodate workloads outside of an office setting. Uninterruptible power supply (UPS), a computer room air conditioner (CRAC), and HVAC / cooling systems are all included in this IT infrastructure. Notably, there is no redundancy of any essential systems at these facilities, and the infrastructure for electricity and cooling only has one distribution line.

Together, these fundamental parts of a data center allow the facility to function during power surges and outages as well as on the weekends and beyond regular business hours. However, it is necessary to temporarily halt data center operations to carry out routine maintenance or urgent repairs.

Basic Capacity Tier 1 Data Center

Given its constraints, tier 1 data centers are best suited for very small businesses looking for the most affordable hosting option. Additionally, throughout the year, these businesses must be able to suffer significant downtime (Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3 Data Center i.e., up to 28.8 hours annually).

Data Center Tier 2 – Redundant Capacity

Tier 2 data centers have all the features of tier 1 facilities. But they additionally have some partial redundancy in the form of backup electrical generators, power systems (such as UPS systems), and chillers and pumps for cooling. Additionally, redundant infrastructure increases security against IT process disturbances brought on by equipment failures. Allowing tier 2 data centers to take advantage of specific maintenance opportunities.

Tier 2 data centers, like Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3 Data Center facilities, are dependent on a single distribution line for cooling and power. Which leaves them open to unexpected outages.

Data Center Tier 2 - Redundant Capacity

Small- to medium-sized businesses frequently employ Tier 2 data centers when they require a more affordable and dependable solution for their compute and storage needs. These businesses typically use tier 2 facilities for non-mission-critical tasks like data backup & recovery.

Furthermore, tier 2 data centers meet the needs of clients that have linked their data centers or who can afford a decent amount of downtime (Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3 Data Center i.e., up to 22.7 hours annually). Often, tier 2-rated data centers are built to tier 3 standards. However, the operator may have chosen to save money by equipping the facility with non-critical components at tier 2 levels.

Data Centre, Tier 3 – Concurrent Maintenance

Tier 3 data centers are concurrently maintained because they have all of the capabilities of tier 1 and tier 2 facilities without the need for shutdowns for planned maintenance and equipment replacement. To implement this resilience, a second redundant power, and cooling distribution path was added to the tier 2 facilities’ existing redundant critical components. This allowed for the complete shutdown and maintenance of all components required to support the IT processing environment without affecting IT operations.

Data Centre, Tier 3 – Concurrent Maintenance

More specifically, all IT equipment must have two power sources connected to separate UPS units. Ensuring that if one UPS unit is taken down, servers won’t crash or network connectivity won’t be lost. Additionally, redundant cooling systems must be set up so that even if one cooling unit malfunctions. the other one will start up and keep the computer rooms in a data center at a comfortable temperature and humidity level.

Tier 3 data centers may be maintained concurrently because they are equipped with the systems, procedures, and tools needed for staff to carry out maintenance and repairs without affecting client service.

Data Center, Tier 4 – Fault Tolerant

Tier 4 data centers have fault tolerance techniques and redundancy for every component in addition to having all the capabilities of Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3 Data Center facilities. Fault tolerance specifically means that IT operations are not impacted by any unanticipated individual equipment failures or distribution channel interruptions.

Data Center, Tier 4 – Fault Tolerant

Tier 4 facilities essentially lack single points of failure. Consequently, the goal of a tier 4 data center is to deliver consistent support and services under all conditions.




Flash Sale

Hurry Up! Offer ends in
01 days
11 hrs
34 mins
08 secs
Buy Now