Data Center Tier 1

Data centers are categorized into several tiers according to their operations, operational processes, and services they provide. From a simple level of one data center tier 1 to a rigid level of four means tier 4 data center, there are four levels of tiers.

One of these layers incorporates every data center tier. An industry standard for data center infrastructure functionality is provided by this classification. The four tiers can be used to device data center performance, investment, and return on investment (return on investment).

The cost of redundancy is balanced with the requirement for availability as the tiers rise. Higher tier levels, therefore, offer better availability at a higher price.

Tier 1 Data Center

A tier 1 data center has the essential tools and set-up needed to function as a data center. A certified Tier 1 data center is made up of a single, non-redundant power and cooling distribution channel and has no redundant capacity devices or components. Tier 1 data center requirements are not at all fault-tolerant as a result. It promises to have a 99.671% uptime rate.

  • 99.671% Uptime
  • no redundancy
  • 28.8 hours of downtime per year.

Tier 2 Data Center

With redundant components, Tier 2  data center is an improvement over Tier 1. A single, non-redundant power and cooling distribution channel make up Tier 2. As a result, power outages can completely stop operations. Tier 2 data centers pledge to offer 99.741% uptime.

  • 749% Uptime
  • Partial (N+1) redundancy of components
  • 22 hours of downtime per year

Tier 3 Data Center

Data Center Tier 1

Tier 3 data center is an upgrade to tier 2 that includes dual-powered hardware and several uplinks. The ideal balance between cost and performance is offered by Tier 3.

Data Center Tier 3 requires is made up of redundant components that are simultaneously maintainable and several, independent paths for distributing power and cooling. Certified data center Tier 3 commits to a 99.982% availability rate.

  • 982 % Uptime
  • Fault-Tolerant (N+1) redundancy of components
  • 6 hours of downtime per year

Tier 4 Data Center

Tier 4 consists of redundant parts as well as many, active power and cooling distribution routes.

In a Tier 4 data center, every component including servers, uplinks, storage, chillers, and HVAC (heating, ventilation, and air conditioning) systems is dual-powered and completely fault-tolerant.

Data Center Tier 4 standard has stringent security management measures and a 99.995% availability guarantee.

  • 995 % Uptime
  • Fault-Tolerant (2N+1) redundancy of components
  • 04 hours of downtime per year

Comparing Data Center Tiers 1, 2, 3, and 4

How the 4 Tier Standards of Data Centers Differ from One Another is listed in the table below.

Target customer Small Business Small Enterprise Large enterprise Very Large Org/MNC
Component level redundancy N Partial
N + 1
Fault Tolerant
N + 1
Fault Tolerant
2N + 1
Distribution Paths 1 1 Fault Tolerant
2N + 1
Fault Tolerant
2N + 1
Availability 99.671 % 99.749 % 99.982 % 99.995 %
Downtime 28.8 Hrs. 22 Hrs. 1.6 Hrs. 0.04 Hrs.
Compartmentalization No No No Yes
Staffing None 1 Shift 1 + Shift 24 * 7 * 365
Concurrently maintainable No No Yes Yes
Continuous cooling No No No Yes
Months to Implement 3 3-6 15-20 15-20
Year 1st deployed 1965 1970 1985 1995

Related Article 

tier 3 tier 4 data center

data center tier 1 2 3 4

difference between tier 3 and 4 data center

difference between tier 2 and tier 3 data centers




Flash Sale

Hurry Up! Offer ends in
00 days
20 hrs
49 mins
03 secs
Buy Now