Tier 3 and Tier 4 Data Center

The newest technological asset to be included in Our IT Department’s increasing network architecture is the new Tier 3 and Tier 4 Data Center. This practically means that the center keeps running the standard system while also having a backup system on hand.

With redundant capacity and data center infrastructure components, a Tier 3 data center combines and surpasses the characteristics and capabilities of Tier 1 data centers and Tier 2 data centers.

The industry has divided different types of data centers into four different levels in order to more clearly define them. In real terms, if a first system fails, there is a backup, and a second backup is prepared to take over if necessary.

  • Tier requirements for uptime data centers: The availability of a facility is determined using a standardized process called uptime data center tier standards.

Tier 5, the simplest is, of course, a Tier 1 data center utilized by small businesses or retail establishments.

IT components can be changed or removed, just like in Tier 3 and Tier 4 Data Center, without affecting regular data center operations.

  • A packet moves through only 3 switches: the core, the appropriate distribution switch, and the access switch to which the server was connected. A Tier IV data center. Which is completely “fault-tolerant” and is the best in the business.

This indicates that every system, whether mechanical or electrical, has a threefold backup, or 2N in industry parlance (Need x 2).

What Effect Do the Different Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3, and Tier 4 Data Center Levels Have on Your Business?

When renting data center tier levels, organizations must consider uptime, also known as tier data center availability.

Different infrastructure design topologies used in data centers serve as the foundation for the uptime Tiered classification scheme. The industry’s need for benchmarking standards was specially addressed by the development of the data center uptime institute Tiered classification scheme.

Tier 3 and Tier 4 Data Center

The Four Categories that make up the Tier System are as follows:

  1. Tier 1 – Non-redundant, basic site infrastructure
  2. Some redundant capacity components are in Tier 2.
  3. Concurrently maintained infrastructure at Tier 3
  4. Very fault-tolerant infrastructure at Tier 4

The Tier 3 and Tier 4 Data Center system is helpful for calculating several indicators, including return on investment, investment, and data center performance.

The authority body that determines the requirements and circumstances that apply to various Tier systems for Data Centers is the Uptime institute. Another name for The Uptime Institute is “The Global Data Center Authority”.

Data Center Tier Levels

Tier 1 Data Center 1.    A Tier 1 certified data center requirement has no or very little redundancy.

2.    There are about 28.8 hours of downtime per year.

3.    A 99.671% uptime guarantee is offered.

4.    Small enterprises without mission-critical applications should use Tier 1.

5.    Data processing equipment may suffer from planned or unforeseen outages or failures in mechanical and plumbing (MEP) systems.

6.    Power and cooling system components are not redundant.

Tier 2 Data Center 1.    A Tier 2 certified data center has a few redundant parts.

2.    Around 22 hours of downtime per year satisfies or surpasses all Tier 1 standards.

3.    Around 99.741% of redundant site infrastructure capacity is required to maintain an uptime guarantee.

4.    Data centers with Tier 2 certification provide some power and cooling redundancy.

Tier 3 Data Center 1.    A Tier 3 certified data center contains redundant power sources.

2.    The annual downtime is approximately 1.6 hours.

3.    meets or surpasses 99.982% of all Tier 1 and Tier 2 Uptime guarantees.

4.    Most new data centers aim for Tier 3 accreditation, which is perfect for medium- to large-sized organizations.

5.    Tier 3 accredited data centers have 72 Hour Power Outage Protection

Tier 4 Data Center 1.    The best data center redundancy is provided by Tier 4 certified data centers.

2.    There are roughly 2.4 minutes of downtime every year.

3.    A 99.995% uptime guarantee is offered.

4.    Enterprise corporations should use data centers with Tier 4 certification.

5.    Data centers with Tier 4 certification feature 96-hour power outage protection.

6.    The most expensive kind of data center is this one. Tier 4 data centers are scarce, and most are private.


With one active distribution line for Tier 1 and Tier 2 certified data centers, and one active and an alternate distribution path for Tier 3 certified data centers, downtime is less likely.

Tier 3 and Tier 4 Data Center

Due to the Tier 4 Data Center’s two active distribution pathways, the likelihood of downtime is nearly nonexistent. Your clients will always be able to access your site 24/7, 365 days a year, even if one distribution path fails for whatever reason.

This is because there is always a backup distribution path running. Without interfering with your business operations, Tier 3 and Tier 4 Data Center distribution pathways can both go through concurrent maintenance.

Related Article 

data center tier 1 2 3 4

tier 3 data center power requirements

tier 3 data center security requirements




Flash Sale

Hurry Up! Offer ends in
01 days
11 hrs
16 mins
48 secs
Buy Now