Tier 1 2 3 Data Center

Home » Tier 1 2 3 Data Center

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Tier 1 2 3 Data Center

Data center tiers are a common way of classifying data centers according to the possible performance of their infrastructure (Tier 1 2 3 Data Center uptime). Data center tiers are ranked from Tier 1 2 3 4 Data Center, and data centers with higher rankings have more potential uptime than those with lower rankings.

Blue And White Modern Creative Digital Marketing Outdoor Banner

Here are the four data center tier rankings that are currently recognized by the Uptime Institute. Along with an explanation of what each ranking means in terms of uptime and availability.

Who Approves Data Centres?

Either the TIA/942 standard or the Uptime Institutes’ standard tier classification scheme are typically used to rate and certify data centers. Data centers are rated after being certified against these requirements.

Make sure you are aware of their reputation in the industry and the standard they are utilizing before engaging them to certify your data center.

Who Approves Data Centres

What is a Tier 1 data center?

Small firms frequently use Tier 1 2 3 Data Center, which has the following features:

  • Uptime of 99.671%
  • no redundant work
  • Annual downtime of 28.8 hours.

What is a Tier 2 Data Center?

A Tier 2 facility offers the following advantages:

  • Uptime of 99.749%
  • partial redundancy for cooling and power
  • Observe 22 hours of downtime annually

What is a Tier 3 Data Center?

Larger companies use Tier 3 data center specifications, which include the following:

  • Uptime of 99.982% (Tier 3 uptime)
  • Maximum annual downtime is 1.6 hours.
  • Providing protection from power outages for at least 72 hours, N+1 fault tolerant

How Are Tier 4 Data Center Ratings Calculated?

Enterprise organizations frequently use Tier 4 data centers, which offer the following services:

  • Annual uptime of 99.995% (Tier 4 uptime)
  • Fully redundant infrastructure with 2N+1 (the main difference between tier 3 and tier 4 data centers)
  • 96-hour protection from power outages
  • 3 minutes annually are lost.

Related Article 

tier 1 tier 2 tier 3 data center

data center tier 3 requirements

tier data center classification

data center tier 3 standards

Tier 2 Data Center Uptime

Tier 3 Certification Data Center

Tier 2 Data Center Requirements

tier 1 data center requirements


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
On Key

Related Posts