A key consideration when selecting a facility to house your data is Tier Three Data Center. Failure to select the appropriate tier might result in issues with downtime or unforeseen costs because the tier rating exposes what a data center can offer in terms of reliability and performance.


This article discusses how Tier Three Data Centers operate and how you may evaluate a data center’s quality using these rankings. Learn how to choose a facility that suits your business’s needs and budget by using the tiering criteria in the following paragraphs.

What Are Tiers in a Data Center?

Tier Three Data Centers are a recognized grading system that shows how reliable the infrastructure of a data center is. Facilities are ranked from 1 to 4, with 1 being the worst performance and 4 representing the greatest.

The Uptime Institute is a neutral organization that assesses the facility level largely using the following criteria. Awards a data center with this global ranking:

  • Timeliness promises.
  • Mistake tolerance (the ability to handle both planned and unplanned disturbances).
  • Service price.

This objective tier system provides a factual picture of how a particular data center functions. Although it is optional to have a rating, not all data centers have a tier assigned to them.

What Are Tiers in a Data Center?

However, the majority of large facilities opt to request an assessment from the Uptime Institute because:

  • Create trust in your company.
  • Promote the capabilities of the facility.
  • Create trust to draw in new customers.
  • Prepare for upcoming improvements and facility growth.

For an official rating, data center employees must present site plans and blueprints (Tier Certification of Design Documents) to the Uptime Institute. The Uptime Institute governments then go to the facility in person to go over operations and give a rating.

What is Tier Three Data Center?

The Second-Highest certification in the Uptime Institute’s approach for grading data center performance into four categories is a Tier Three Data Center. The following must be accomplished by Tier 3 data centers in addition to completing the requirements for Tier 1 and Tier 2 data centers:

What is Tier Three Data Center

  • Redundancy of N+1: To enable normal maintenance without downtime. Tier Three Data Centers have N+1 redundant power and cooling distribution pathways.
  • A 72-hour outage guarantee: It is necessary to have three days of continual power that is not connected to any external sources.
  • Maximum annual downtime is 1.6 hours: The annual maximum for maintenance and emergencies is this amount of downtime.
  • 982% of the time: Emergencies and unforeseen maintenance may cause some disruption. Services geared toward customers might be affected.

The Uptime Institute’s most popular accreditation is for Tier Three Data Center. Which are frequently used by businesses larger than the normal small- to medium-sized corporations. Many of the services offered by Tier 4 providers are also offered by Tier 3 providers. Although they give a somewhat lower uptime guarantee and are not fault-tolerant.

Related Article 

data center tier 3 requirements

tier data center classification

data center tier 3 standards